Skip to main content
Segments are used to organize your Contacts into groups for sending Broadcasts. Segments are not visible to your Contacts. They are only used for your own internal Contact management.

Create Segments

You can create Segments in the Dashboard, or programmatically from the Segments API, with a Segments CLI command, or MCP. To create a Segment in the Resend Dashboard:
1

Go to the Segments Dashboard view.

2

Select Create Segment.

3

Enter a name.

Enter a name for your Segment that describes the Contacts in this group (e.g., “newsletter subscribers”, “free trial users”).
4

Click Add to confirm.

View Segments

The Segments Dashboard view shows a list of all Segments in your account, when they were created, and how many Contacts are in each Segment.

Edit Segments

Click the More options menu next to each Segment to:
  • edit the Segment name
  • copy the Segment ID to your clipboard
  • delete the Segment
Click on any Segment to view the list of Contacts that belong to that Segment. You can also retrieve a single Segment, list of Segments, or the list of Contacts in a Segment, from the Segments API, with a Segments CLI command, or MCP.

Updating the Segments of a Contact

A Contact can belong to multiple Segments. Because Segments are only used to organize your Contacts internally for sending Broadcasts, you do not need consent to add a user to a Segment. You can add a Contact to a Segment via the Dashboard by editing the Contact and choosing to add or remove Segments. You can also use the Contacts API or Contacts CLI commands to add or remove Segments from a Contact’s profile programmatically.
If a Contact’s unsubscribed status is true, or the Contact is on the Suppression List, Resend will not send any emails to them, even if you have added them to a Segment.Regularly review your unsubscribe list and remove recipients from your Contact list who no longer wish to receive your emails.

Delete Segments

When you delete a Segment, no Contacts are deleted. The Segment is removed from your list, and from the segments property of all associated Contacts. You can delete Segments in the Dashboard, or programmatically from the Segments API, with a Segments CLI command, or with MCP. To delete one or more Segments in the Dashboard:
1

Go to the Segments Dashboard view.

2

Select the Segment(s) you want to delete by clicking the checkboxes next to each Segment.

3

Click Delete in the bottom action bar.

4

Type the Segment name (for single selection) or DELETE N SEGMENTS (for multiple) to confirm.

5

Press Cmd+Enter or click Delete Segments to complete.

You can also use keyboard shortcuts:
  • Cmd+A to select all Segments on the current page.
  • Backspace to open the delete confirmation modal.

Export your data

Admins can download your data in CSV format for the following resources:
  • Emails
  • Broadcasts
  • Contacts
  • Segments
  • Domains
  • Logs
  • API keys
Currently, exports are limited to admin users of your team.
To start, apply filters to your data and click on the “Export” button. Confirm your filters before exporting your data. If your exported data includes 1,000 items or less, the export will download immediately. For larger exports, you’ll receive an email with a link to download your data. All admins on your team can securely access the export for 7 days. Unavailable exports are marked as “Expired.”
All exports your team creates are listed in the Exports page under Settings > Team > Exports. Select any export to view its details page. All members of your team can view your exports, but only admins can download the data.

API Reference

For complete API documentation, see the Segments API reference.